Gun Show

Leaving Baltimore with a BaNg!

On the way out of town I left with a bang! All very appropriate and to be expected as a final send off. I lived in the hood with open drugs and prostitution on my corner. In the past I have noticed that dealers leave their stash of drugs under my bumper, so they aren’t caught with more than 1 oz. for a dealing charge. I was often approached as a potential buyer as I parked my car. I was half-way to Minneapolis, nearly ten hours into the drive, when I stopped for gas in Indiana. I needed to pull up to the front of the station to add air to both my front tires. I was filling the second tire on the passenger side and was able to look under the engine, behind the wheel well I noticed a weird piece of hanging rusty metal. I questioned what the hell it was, only hoping that it was not something important that broke off the engine. I just had the oil changed the day before and they had not mentioned anything of concern. I reached behind the wheel and pulled out a rusty loaded revolver. The ghetto gun is completely rusted out, the handle is gone. It has all six (new) and shiny bullets. I am a little relieved that there is not a single barrel open. I am sure that a surveillance camera at the truck stop in Indiana has a fuzzy black and white image of young man quietly wielding a gun with a very surprised look on his face. It took me several seconds to realize this was not the spot to be inspecting my new find. I calmly put it under the seat in my car. Upon further inspection it is a Colt .38 Special. The .38 Smith & Wesson Special (commonly .38 Special, “Thirty-eight Special”) is a rimmed, center-fire cartridge designed by Smith & Wesson. The .38 Special was the standard service cartridge of most police departments in the United States from the 1920s to the early 1990s. Apparently a very popular model on the mean streets of Baltimore. I am sure this gun even in its dilapidated state has seen some serious action on Baltimore’s East Side, West side, and who are we kidding probably up and down North Avenue. As a parting gift this only seems oddly appropriate as a proper send off and symbolic gesture, to my final days living in Baltimore. In all fairness I am glad to see the gun from this side and not the other way around. The “thirty-eight” will act as a trophy to memorialize my ten-year anniversary of living and leaving Baltimore.

About this entry